Preparing for Adventure!

So, today I shall begin my newest job as a DM for Girl1, Boy, my girl K, and Pedro.  Others may join us at other points in time, but for now it is the four of them.  I am excited and nervous, all rolled into one!  I so want to go into everything I have already done, but I can’t because I want to keep it a surprise.  

This weekend is an absolute geek weekend at my house.  I came home from work last night after a longer than normal day (I am working on a project which captured my soul.  I wanted to ensure that I was able to finish it up this week), and Girl2 wanted to play some video games.  I really wanted to unwind with some FFX, so I decided to combine the two.  We sat together and I taught her the most important lesson of the RPG.  Grind.  Grind, and grind, and then grind some more.  Playing the game is fun, but the most fun thing for me is to sit after a long day and just run around in circles in fights.  I also want to ensure that I have enough money to pay off O’aka, that cheeky bastard.  The first grind I had over 5k gold, which I gave to him, and now the next time I see him I will give him 5,002 gold, which will earn me 30% off his wares.  I have done this in the first two towns.  So, for those that just go through the games, that is fine too, but for me, there is nothing better than being in the same spot.  For hours.  

I also got to teach her some fundamentals, like making sure everyone has a turn so they can have equal XP.  Everyone gets a turn.  So as it should be in real life.  She learned about elements and opposites.  She learned that sometimes some people will have some skills that are better suited than others, but others will have skills that are different.  If you work together, you find that all the skills are equally useful.  Ok, really, she learned how to run in circles and fight things.

Image

Look at her, playing her first Final Fantasy game!  It brought tears of joy to my eyes.

Now today, she is off to her father’s and her Aunt Wendy is coming to visit so she will have a very exciting day.  But maybe not as exciting than us!  An adventure awaits for our brave souls, and they already have one this against them.  I am the DM.  To show how serious, I am coming in with the intimidation right out of the gate.  I am wearing a glow in the dark Dalek shirt.

Image

Exterminate!

I think they will rise to the challenge, for it would be a shame if they can’t make it to the town!  I have a lot in store for them…

Image

They may need all of these dice.

Until next time!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Preparing for Adventure!

  1. holy. dice pile. i have about 40 dice that I’ve kept for 30+ years and everytime I see a dice-orgy like this I marvel at it.

Leave a Reply

