For Two Special Ladies

I know I said I would post once a week about someone special, but this time I decided I would do two special ladies in my life.  They both are dear to me, and they both have one thing in common: I don’t get to spend as much time with them as I would like, for we all have crazy schedules, but they touch me in profound ways.

First I will start off with a fellow blogger and lover of words.  I met her through an ex (who was not my ex at the time), as she was in his circle of friends.  I immediately loved her for all she represented, which was a strong sense of self and an amazingly strong voice.  As a woman, I deeply appreciated this.  We became friends, and even though the ex and I split, we still communicated.

Our friendship has never been built on hours of visits, or hanging out and having crazy adventures, but rather conversation.  She inspires me in so many ways and shows me that there can be gentleness and beauty in this world.  I know even though we rarely see each other that she loves me and that she is always solidly in my corner as I stumble through this place called life.  When he made me feel miserable about myself, she told me I was beautiful.  She has been a constant cheerleader in my struggles, and for this I am eternally grateful.  I received a package from her the other day, containing books for Girl1 to help her in her own spiritual quest, and I was touched by the handwritten notes we both received.  It meant so much to me, that she thought about me, and she does these things without expecting anything in return.  She is just kind.

I follow her path on FB and on here.  She has two children that she homeschools.  She has a different approach to parenting that I both admire and respect.  She continually amazes me and challenges me to open my mind.  The world is lucky to have her, and I am luckier to count her as a friend.  I may not say it, but I love you ever so much for all you have done for my soul.

Lady number 2 I will call Stella.  She knows why.  She is also someone I wish I could see more and one of the most interesting people I have ever met.  We worked together in hell, and yes, it was hell, and she helped me get through it.  The thing about her was I always envisioned this tornado around her, she was like a whirlwind; always going somewhere, but you always wanted to be a part of it.  Really, if you spend 5 minutes with her, you will wonder how you lived your entire life without knowing her in it.

One of my first memories of her was when I was working in her store, filling in, and we had to do a catering order.  I am not one who can wrap things artfully.  I am also chaos incarnate, and while I could put together an order with lightening speed, I was in no way the person who could make it look like art once packaged.  We stared at each other because we had no idea how we could pull it off.  We began to talk, and we realized the she could artfully package, while I was a master of sandwich making.  This is how we became each other’s yin and yang.

It’s been a decade since that time, and we experienced so much in hell.  I could tell you stories, but I promise you that you would not find it as funny as we would.  She went through some really tough times, as did I, and we would always be there for each other, even if it was just through text.  She understood me.  She knew I was a maniac, but she was too.  She was a whirlwind and I a tornado, but together we were the perfect storm.  She never judged me for any of my actions, and when I took my giant leaps, she was one of the ones propelling me forward, telling me I was making myself better for it.

How could I ever explain the love I have for her?  I just can’t.  I don’t know if I have ever seen as much strength and beauty as she goes through her path in life.  She deals with hardships that I believe would crumple me to the ground.  She has an amazing outlook to all things, whether good or bad, and the ability to take our worst situations and laugh about them with me.  We once said we would be Sister Wives.  It had nothing to do with the men, we didn’t even care, we just wanted to live in our commune life together.  I don’t think we really even thought about the husband part.

She also taught me that passive aggressive could be really funny.  We would lash out at hell by doing ridiculous passive aggressive things, like when I did the ordering in the summer and stocked up on frozen drink lids.  Why?  I mean who doesn’t want a frozen drink in 10 degree weather?  Sierra Mist became the most purchased soda for our store, because, we really needed those 10 cases when we would go through maybe 2 a month.  Sierra Mist to us became everyone’s favorite drink.  We really thought we were funny.

I don’t know where my life will take me, or what adventures lay before me.  I do know, however, that both of these ladies have touched me in ways far more than I would ever be able to tell them.  I love them ever so much and they continue to inspire me beyond words.  In case I haven’t said to you in person, thank you both, for being there and giving me the honor of calling you friend and sister.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “For Two Special Ladies

  1. Friends in the workplace are a true blessing. I worked in my own version of Hell for a while, and without my friend Jim to send “interesting” haikus back and forth with, I would have never made it.

    For instance:
    The white jacket men
    They watch in quiet knowing
    Soon their day shall bloom

  2. HS

    Had to come back to this. Nobody sits alone.

Leave a Reply

