First Post of 2014

2014 is here, friends!  We did it!  We made it through another year, together.  I will admit, some parts of it were a bit of a rough patch, but we still made it through.

2013 was my year of actions, as I said in my year in review post.  So, in true fashion, for New Years Eve, I just relaxed.  I came home from work and I hung out with my soul sister K, my girls and the boy.  We watched The Doctor Who marathon on BBC until 11:50 to watch the ball drop.  Us girls straightened our hair and threw on makeup, just because we could.  I proceeded to bombard my FB with these pics, maybe to the dismay of my friends because they just kept coming.

It’s too early for me to be profound, which is good, because profound is too deep for me at this time in the morning.  It also goes with my theme for 2014, which is to just be simple.  I want to simply be good, and sometimes maybe simply be bad.  I want to make mistakes and learn how to learn from them.

Simple isn’t easy, especially for a girl who only knows how to complicate and over-analyze.  Simple will be a path and one I may have to make on my own, since this ground for me has not been uncovered.  It isn’t just saying, “Okay!  We are going to be simple now!” but rather knowing what moments it is okay to be simple.  Here are some other things I would like to do this year:

Getting better with my own self and feeling more comfortable in my skin. I like to hide myself in bigger clothing; it makes me feel safe and secure.  I realized the damage I could unintentionally be doing to my daughters by striving so hard and never being satisfied about who I actually am.  When we were doing our make-up (and trust, I rarely do that), Julie wanted hers done too because she said she wanted to be pretty like me.  It was humbling for two reasons.  1 – In her eyes, I am pretty.  2 – In her mind, she can only be pretty in makeup.  I told her she didn’t need the makeup because she was already perfectly beautiful, but I would let her have some for fun. This year, I strive to simply accept who I am in all fashions, and to start giving my daughters that foundation they need.  They deserve that and so do I.

I need to reconnect a little more.  I need to simply get back to basics, and stop letting technology do the work for me.  Facebook is great and all, but it shouldn’t be the only form of communications I have.  Yes, this sounds simple, but it can be hard with work schedules and just plain tired.  I need to learn to do better in this area, even if it is just a card in the mail or a letter.  Who doesn’t love getting something in the mail that just says “Hi, I am thinking about you.”.  I especially need to do this with my mom, who I do talk to on a regular basis, but sometimes I think she needs that. 

The Boy’s New Year wish was to go to NY and see Times Square.  He wasn’t even shooting for NY Eve, just a chance to go.  I can make that happen for him.

2013, I am not sorry to see you go.  You were exactly the year I needed you to be, and I was exactly the right person I needed to be.  I would even strive and say I was fantastic.  2014, you have a lot to live up to, but I am gladly accepting this challenge and knowing we are going to hit every mark.  Well, most of them.  Ok, some of them.  Simple is my plan, so if I don’t hit them all, I will be okay just knowing I tried.

And before I go, I shall spare you some selfies!  Don’t worry, The Boy is just drinking sparkling cider.

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Happy 2014, friends.  I hope it is all you want it to be and then some more.  Make it happen and make it count.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “First Post of 2014

  1. Those girls of yours are going to break hearts on an epic level. 🙂

    Your post makes me realize how little introspection I’ve done over the last few days in comparison to all of my friends. There are deep and thoughtful posts all over Facebook and WordPress, and none of them are mine. I think because I already have so many goals I’m working on that adding New Years stuff would just overwhelm me. By the end of the year I should have two associates degrees and be working on my bachelors degree. I’m praying (and that’s something coming from an agnostic that’s ever-more approaching atheism) that I have a new job after getting those associates degrees. Then there’s the need to actually work on my novel so that I might finish it this next year. Granted, my time is a bit taken up with school, but I could spare a few hours each weekend, if I focused.

    I hope your trip to Times Square goes well. I’ve always wanted to go myself, but it seems like it’s a world away.

    I wonder if there are any gaming stores near the Square.

    • Awwww, thanks! I should take a picture of Girl1 before she goes to school. She doesn’t put forth that much of an effort and I am grateful.

      I would say you have your resolutions set, and it is the best of all – doing what you have to do. Game plans, ftw! I think what you are doing is amazing!

      You can get to NY! It really is an amazing place and totally worth the visit. It has so much positive energy.

      I am quite sure that there is a game store in Times Square!

  2. I adore the picture of you and Girl 1. Adore it. All of you are so beautiful and The Boy… How comfortable he is being him it seems.

    As to the rest: You are setting a remarkable example by being open and honest about your self outlook and how that might impact your kids. It is simple – and profound. The most profound things usually are. Keep walking the path you are – you can not err. ❤

    • Oh, this path I walk is tangled, but it is my own. If I can teach my children one thing, it would be that it is okay to walk their own path. Well, maybe two, because I want them to walk it with kindness.

      I adore the fact that my children do seem to be so comfortable with themselves. I remember when Julie was two, and taking her to the doctor’s and she looked at me funny when she knew what her vagina was. I thought it was strange that she looked at me funny. One thing I have always tried to bestow upon them is a sense of self, and never being ashamed. I learned that in order to really teach it, I have to believe in myself.

Leave a Reply

