Thanksgiving Wishes and Dreams

Happy Thanksgiving, friends!  I am going to keep this simple, because a wise woman wrote those words (over at Momastary.  For the hundreth time, check that blog out).

Here it is, the day I was dreading.  The first holiday as a divorced woman.  You know what?  The sun came up, the pies are in the over (thank you coupons and .99 Mrs. Smith pies!).  The turkey is on the counter, my girl K took one for the team and seasoned that bird up.  I have been smiling all morning, even if my back hurts.  I will drop J off soon, then go back to pick her up, but it will be okay.  It will be more than okay.  Today will be wonderful.

Outlook to me is one part how you see it and one part how you feel it.  Money doesn’t make the world go round, friends.  I remember being little, and one year there was no turkey on my table.  There was peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  You know what?  It didn’t even matter to me, because I liked pb&j, and I loved my mom.  I don’t remember feeling any different for not having the turkey, but I do remember laughing with my mom as we ate our sandwiches and she made me homemade donuts afterwards.  I cheat, and use biscuit dough (I did it once), but I remember that.

In the spirit of keeping it simple, I hope you all have a wonderful day no matter what is on your table.  Love those around you, and love them hard.  I will be loving over here with a fierceness.  Enjoy your day and make memories.  

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thanksgiving Wishes and Dreams

  1. I’m so glad your turkey day is going well. You’re still surrounded by people that love you and apparently some that will cook for you (I love those people.) and that seems like a wonderful way to live.

    Especially with the press in the mix.

Leave a Reply

