For The Boy, Who Saved My World

My dearest boy,

I remember when you were 10, and you told me that when you were going to be 15, you were going to save the world.  You had it all planned out, even your code name, and you would be a vigilante to the likes the world have never seen.  You were convinced that you, and you alone, could save the world.  You were dead serious.  I signed you up for Tai Kwan Do, since I figured you would need the training if this were to come true, and yes, maybe I was a little afraid of that cop that was behind me (even though I wasn’t breaking a law and was in a perfectly registered and insured car), but you didn’t last too long.  You weren’t that keen on football either.  With only a couple years to go, I really hope you have the training you need to save the world.  Honestly though, if the world needed saving, I think you would do it with finesse.

Image

Our lives have changed so much in the past year.  You have become the man of the house, and the one I can depend on to do my job when I can’t.  You make sure that Girl 2 is taken care of, and fed, and bathed, while I work until 8 on nights that she is here.  I couldn’t have her here without you.  You have already started saving the world, at least to me.  

I know if I ask you to do something, it will get done.  You know how to load the dishwasher ALL THE WAY.  You can take out the garbage, and sometimes remember to bring the bin back in.  When I am having a horrible day, sometimes it is your stories, and your ridiculous way of telling them that can get me to smile.

Image

 

I don’t know what it is like to be the middle child.  I especially don’t know what it is like to be sandwiched between two very strong willed females who demand attention.  I know you think that I forget about you, or that I never ask Girl 1 to do things, but I ask you because I can depend on you.  I realize that sometimes it isn’t fair.  You tend to do things on your own, without asking for me help, because you know that times are hard.  Don’t be afraid to come to me because I would move the heavens and earth for you.

I remember you being in 5th grade and coming home in tears.  You told me you had no friends and that everyone made fun of you.  I hugged you and told you it would get better.  That it may not seem like it now, but you would go to a bigger school next year and find people that also had the same interests you had.  You would find friends that understood you.  You would then move on to an even bigger school and find even more friends.  How hard it must have been for you then, every day, going somewhere where you thought that you were not liked.  You did make it through, and now you have made friends.  It got better.  Thank you so much for believing in what I told you.  Thank you for believing in yourself.

I have high hopes for you.  I know you are going to do amazing at whatever you do, whether it be video game design, comedy, or saving the world.  I can even imagine you doing all three.  I have some words of wisdom or you as you travel on your glorious journey of this life; words that you may not heed now, but hopefully remember at some point.

Don’t lose who you are to please someone else.  Stay ridiculous.  You have no idea how your ridiculousness makes everyone happier, and all you are doing is being you.

When you get to a stage of serious dating, please treat women with respect.  Be a gentleman.  Open doors, hold hands, never raise your hand to a woman.  If she raises one to you, walk away.  Think of how you would feel if someone was doing that to me, or your sisters.  This does not give carte blanche for you to be abused, in any fashion.  If you aren’t being treated respectfully, then walk away.  

No means no.  No means no all the time, not just some of the time.  Even if it really seems like it doesn’t mean no, it always means no. If there is drinking involved, it is always no.  I have talked to Girl 1 about safety, but I will also talk to you about knowing how not to take it too far.  

Never lose sight of who you are, and what you can accomplish in this world.  I may not be able to send you to college, but I can help in whatever way I can.  I do believe that you can go on to so whatever you want to do, and don’t let anyone tell you differently.

Respect people’s opinions, even if they don’t match your own.  Not everyone will think the same as you, and that is okay.  In fact, listen to them and learn.  Sometimes seeing the world through someone else’s eyes is the best gift you will ever be given.

Jump at every opportunity you can.  Don’t be afraid to try new things.  If you are afraid, that means it could potentially be awesome.  Some of the best things that have happened in my life where times when I was the most afraid.  Except drugs.  Don’t try those things.

I know that it seems that I spend more time with the girls, or talking about the girls, but Boy, I love you with all my heart.  You are such a miracle to me, and such a joy.  I am so proud of who you are, and who you are growing into being.  I can’t wait to see you walk your path, and if you don’t see a path in front of you, I am sure you will kick the dirt and make your own.  Thank you for all that you give me, and don’t be surprised if I try to hold your hand a little bit harder as you get older.  

Oh, and remember, you already started saving the world.  You just didn’t know it.

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “For The Boy, Who Saved My World

  1. I can so relate to how he must have felt in the school where he felt unwanted. Man. Elementary school was hell; and High School only got marginally better. So glad to be out of there. He seems like an awesome young man, and your descriptions of him remind me a great deal of both myself and my son. Well, I HOPE I’m half as cool as your son is anyhow.

    Here’s hoping his life is filled with nat 20s and tons of wonderful people.

Leave a Reply

