Why I cry

What started out as a pretty good day besides my falling out of a pool (yes, I have the innate ability to not only fall into pools, but also out of them) has ended rather somberly. After our required presence at M’s mom’s gathering, M pulled me upstairs to discuss our status.  He plans on moving out when Girl2 is out of school, which is less than two weeks away.

I don’t blame him.  Goodness knows, I must not have been the nicest person to him over the last couple of months.  Partly due to my needing to be free, and also because I felt like it was too much all at once.  I needed space to process and there wasn’t any to be found.  

This is the road I chose.  This is the path I asked for.  I don’t think I factored in the hurt that comes with the ending of something that was 8 years.  For 8 years, I have had a partner in everything, who raised two children that were not his.  I had someone who would take care of things for me if I was sick, or who drive me to the hospital whenever I needed my yearly surgery on whatever body part wanted to crap out on me.  At one point we were great friends.  I understand that things changed, I understand I initiated this process, but the thought of now doing it alone terrifies me to no end.  

I think the lack of anger hurts as well.  Just the quiet acceptance, and just raw pain for both is worse.  Anger is such a active emotion, one that can motivate you to do things.  This acceptance and raw pain makes me want to curl in a ball.  A slightly twisted ball since my ovaries kind of hurt right now.

I talked with my girl K, well she sat there while I cried and then would force a sentence out of my mouth.  I couldn’t understand why this was difficult and she told me an ending is an ending.  As strange as this may sound, I am not certain I know how to sleep by myself.  I haven’t for so long, and though the marriage bed has not been used as such for a long time, there is still a security knowing someone is there.  I hope I can learn posthaste, though I have had many issues sleeping under the best of conditions.

I was telling FFAC I don’t deal with change well.  When the 9th Doctor became the 10th Doctor, I was pretty upset.  I ended up loving the 10th Doctor, and Rose, and when she left I didn’t think I would like Martha.  I actually didn’t like Martha.  When the 10th became the 11th, I wasn’t very keen.  I don’t love him as much as 10, but he did grow on me.  I’m just not good with change.  I don’t think this change is one I am meant to be good at though.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

“The Road Not Taken” ~ Robert Frost

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Why I cry

  1. You cry because you are brave. Brave enough to face what is, even though it hurts and is sad; brave enough to not get lost in a self written myth. Change is hard. Endings are always new beginnings as well and none are easy. Please always remember that you do not have to do any/all of it alone. Just know when it is you want the help, when you need it, and don’t be afraid to also say you want it on your own.

Leave a Reply

