Past Musings

A few years ago I wrote an open letter to my friend who was going through some tough times.  I realized I needed to read this myself today, so I am posting here so I have it somewhere I can see it whenever, and also because maybe someone else needs it too.

Girl – what a day.

I can only imagine how you are feeling, I am sure it is not pleasant. I just want you to know a few things.

I am sure this advice is not even needed, as far as people go, you are one of the strongest I know. Even us strong girls occasionally need to pick ourselves off the ground.

Don’t let this define who you are. Remember you did what you could, and you have nothing to be sorry about. You can walk with your head high. You deserve all the respect that can be given to you.

Take a few days and mourn. Cry it out, sit in your pj’s, watch bad movies. Eat ice cream for breakfast, and if you need to, scream it out. When you get it all out, wake up in the morning, shake it all off, and resolve to start from the beginning.

Remember it’s ok to laugh, and if you forget how, call one of the many, many people who love you to remind you how.

About a week ago, I told you that the situation was as low as you can go. I lied, and I am sorry, for I am sure you feel worse now then you did then. Trust this though: There is only up from here. If you need help, we (and I speak for the many) are here. After a crappy rainstorm is usually a rainbow, and yours will be coming really soon.

I wish I could give you a hug, but this is the best I can do. You deserve a lot better then what you have been given.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Past Musings

  1. Len

    Lament not for the fly which escapes the spider’s web!

Leave a Reply

