Sisters or The Best Friend You Never Meant to Have

Yesterday, driving home from work, it dawned on me that I hadn’t seen my sister in a while.  Between my work and her work, lives getting busy, we tend to go periods of time without really talking too much.  Sister is the goofiest person I know.  The one not afraid to smear red lipstick over her mouth like a crazy girl for a photo op, the one who will hold the camera while I pretend I am a model and take hipster artsy pics.

She will usually answer her phone when I call or text or be there with a hug whether I want one or not (protip – I am not too much of a touchy feely person, so I usually don’t want one.  She never cares).  If I go to long without seeing her I start to feel it on the insides. My heart doesn’t feel as full, I don’t laugh as hard, and a piece is just not whole.  That’s usually when I will give her a call or a text and ask to see her, to sort of mod podge me back.  One day I realized over 50% of my Facebook profile pictures where it was actually me had her in them and there is a reason for that.  She is my sister.

We didn’t always get along with a 16 year age difference, but looking back on it now, I can’t remember not getting along with her, though she may have a different version of that packed away in her mind.  Now though, we get along to a point where some people just hate being around us because we are that stupid together (and I mean that in the best of ways).  I see the same for Girl 1 and 2, and those times when Girl 2 is crying because Girl 1 won’t play with her, or yells at her, I tell her its okay.  It does get better.  She’s her sister.

I watched Girl 1 and 2 last night and saw those bonds starting to grow (though they would never admit it).  With both the computer and laptop being occupied there was nothing for Girl 1 to do.  Girl 2 was playing with some cards, so Girl 1 joined her and taught her how to play Go Fish.  I didn’t say a word, for fear of breaking it (sort of like not mentioning when Girl 1 and Boy venture outside).  It was cute to watch, the two girls sharing a piece of cheesecake and just playing cards together.  Girl 1 helped me put together Girl 2’s lunch today as well.  She doesn’t quite realize it but the sister bond started as soon as Girl 2 was born.  I watch Girl 2 with her, and she idolizes her.  She mimics her words and her actions.  I know at some point they will have as good as a relationship as I have with my sister, the kind where one will mod podge the other and sometimes just hold your hand because you need it.

Sisters aren’t just blood, either.  There is an unspoken truth among women.  We are all sisters in our own ways, and we all fill different roles for different people.  I have my other sisters; my book sisters; my crafty sisters.  There are ones that come into our family folds by means of relationships with siblings and end up being friends and sisters (and come become as protective of them as we do our blood family).  Those I chose to call my best friends have held that sister role in my heart and mothers cannot make or break that.  One of my sister friends spent a weekend with me and it was one of the best weekends I had in a long time.  She put me at ease, stopped my own personal brand of crazy for a while.  You know what it was like?  It was like walking into a warm kitchen with the smell of apples and cinnamon.  That is what she represents for me, and to me, that goes beyond just the mere title of friend. We all need these people; these ones that make it feel okay to be.  Just to be.  Today I needed one of my sister friends to talk to because I knew she knew and understood my particular brand of crazy.  Again, just to be.  These people are more than important to me and my life is rich because of them.

 

 

Tonight my sister is coming to see me.  I need her to see me, to give me a hug that I don’t want, and just talk.  I just want to be sure of her, and sure of me.  I hope to see some of my other sisters as well in the coming weeks because there is nothing like a warm cup of coffee, tea, or cider and just enjoying the company of someone who knows you so well.  Until next time, friend, grab your sister.  It doesn’t matter if it is a blood sister, or if she doesn’t want a hug because I know, deep down, she does want that hug.

Bless you, my darling, and remember you are always in the heart – oh tucked so close there is no chance of escape – of your sister.  ~Katherine Mansfield

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

