Goals and How to Reach Them or You Can Meet Great People on the Internet

Oh, Mondays.  This is the day I usually dread for the same reason everyone else dreads them.  Back to the grind, whether it be school or work, waking up early, having to pretend to be awake for most of the day.  In my past I used to wish Mondays didn’t exist, but then I realized if they didn’t Tuesdays would be Mondays and it’s just better to get it over with early.  

I was going to write about baking today, but I decided to skip that entirely and do more gaming related posts.  Sort of.  I’ll post about the baking really soon (or just change my blog title to Books and Beyond).  I even remembered to take pictures!

Image

You think this is a muffin right?  WRONG!  It’s a pancake in the shape of a muffin!

Goals.  I set plenty of goals in my day to day life and here are some examples: Wake up, make it downstairs without stumbling and falling down the stairs, pick myself up when I do fall down the stairs (I’m not the most graceful of creatures), make it to the Keurig, press the right button for the coffee to brew.  To some they may not seem like big goals, but to me it’s the daily challenge.  

Image

I don’t know why this picture is sideways, but it kinda is how it looks to me in the morning.  And yes, that is Advil right by the K-Cups.  This clearly is the most important of all cabinets.

This weekend I had one goal and one goal only.  I needed to hit 85 on my warrior in WoW.  Foreign Financial Advisor Correspondent (FFAC) and I decided to roll new characters together and go from 1 – 85 together.  That meant neither one of us could play it if the other wasn’t on, which can be somewhat of a challenge since our time difference makes it really difficult.  We usually play Friday and Saturday nights since all other times one (or both) of us are working or sleeping.  We slacked off for a while; life caught up to us, Diablo 3 came out, FFAC came for a visit and we didn’t play at all (figures, same time zone, you think we would have taken advantage of it once, but nope!) and then the new expansion release date was announced.  We weren’t anywhere near 85 and we had a little over a month or so to get there.  I think we both thought it was impossible, but somehow we managed to pull it off.

FFAC and I have known each other for a while, but stopped talking for a while as well.  Back when I was first playing WoW I kept a weird schedule.  I worked primarily nights, and the kids all went to school during the day (these were the days before Girl 2 was introduced to the world.  Or maybe I should say before the world was introduced to Girl 2), so I played a lot of WoW in the morning.  I ran a warrior back then (leveling Protection infuriated everyone!  So. Much. Fun.)  We met early on, we were both in the same guild, ended up in the same group and Teamspeak was always used.  Every once in a while you will come across someone who just impacts you and changes you.  It happens all the time with lovers, friends, children.  It feels like your energy changes, like a chemical reaction that takes two different things and comes out as something completely different.  It was like that with FFAC.  We pretty much became inseperable in WoW and we started talking outside of the game as well.  With him in NZ, and me in the US, we couldn’t exactly do things that other BFFs can do, so we found other ways to keep it fun, like sending packages to each other with our standard junk food.  

Sometimes friends have misunderstandings, or make mistakes.  I know this to be true with the friends I can drive and go see and apparently this can happen with friends that live on the other side of the world as well.  We ended up having both of those and didn’t talk for a while.

It’s ok though, friend!  This story doesn’t have a sad ending!  Ok, so maybe I did delete my character that I originally played (my first warrior) and didn’t play WoW again for a very long time (not to mention when I did go back I knew he was playing still and didn’t reach out to him for a long time), but it does get better!  I decided to take a chance one day and email, just a feeling it out “Hey, FFAC.  It’s been a while.  Sup?” type of email and he responded positively.  It didn’t take us long at all to have things right back where they were – packages, emails, and WoW included.  I can’t imagine how many people we come across in our lives, but very few people will be able to not talk for years and within a day or two of talking again feel like that break never happened.  If you have never experienced that, I hope you do someday because it is a magical thing.  To steal a line from My Little Pony, “That is some mother f’in magical friendship!”  That may not be verbatim.  Playing WoW with him is like riding a bike; I never forgot how to play.  It takes a special person to deal with me and a charge and it just works.  It’s like a well oiled machine when we play together, well, as long as I don’t get lost.

FFAC desided to come stateside last March/April and visit for a bit.  It was really, really, good to hang out with him and see my country through his eyes.  He is coming back in about a month and I can’t wait to be able to hang out with him again!  The question I have gotten most from other people was if I was afraid to meet him, since I had originally met him online.  I tend to feel now a days, the internet is just as safe of a place to meet people than a bar (if not safer).  Friends aren’t determined by where they live; if you met them down the street or in a pixelated form.  It’s a feeling you get, when you can just be silent and not feel like you need to fill the space.  It’s when you do something stupid and they laugh at you.  It’s rezzing me after I have run into a group full of mobs…again and then not dropping the group and kicking me out of the guild (A guild that consists of just us.  Wait, Girl 1 has a character in there too).  It’s inside jokes, looking forward to the weekends, and making mental notes when something comes up to tell FFAC when I talk to him because he will find it amusing.  It’s his remembering after 4 years of not talking to me that I like Moro Golds (really, they are delicious).  I value his friendship as much as I value those that I can see daily; the internet is not a breeding ground for dangerous people who just want to cause you harm. Friends are friends no matter how they are met or where they may live.  Cherish them when you find them because it really is what makes the world so special.  Til next time, dear friends!
Image

Motherf’in magical friendship!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

